Follow

The Period End Process: Detailed Steps

Things to Do and Consider Prior to Running a Period End:

  • Users will not be able to use the system while the period end is being conducted.

  • Decide if you want to notify users of the period end. The system sends three emails to each user while the period end is in process. You can turn these emails off through the System settings.

  • Calculate all functions at the top of the hierarchy in MBL prior to starting the period end.

  • For every report you’ll need access to prior to archiving, run snapshot reports then export them to Excel, for administrators and users. Doing so is especially important for H reports as you cannot report on past period data on H reports. Reporting on past period data is available on IO reports only. It may also useful to export H report snapshots to Excel for future use, as you cannot export to Excel after the process is complete.

  • Run Audit Trail reports if you wish to clear the Audit Trail and Change Logs. Clearing the Audit Trail and Change Logs in a period end is not recommended.

  • Determine which issues and action plans you want to remove (e.g. closed and remediated items).

  • Determine the workflows you want to reset.

  • Determine which criteria fields you want to clear out for various items.

Steps to Complete a Period End:

A period end is completed by an administrator and is accessible through Administration > System > Period End. All users will be “locked out” of the system while the period end process is running.

Note: If you inadvertently start the period end process or determine that you don’t have enough information to complete the process after starting it, you can complete the steps below without deleting any items or clearing any criteria. Doing so will not affect any information in the system. You can then contact Resolver Support and request the period end archive be deleted for a small fee.

Step 1 of 5: Lock Out Other Users and Name this Period

  1. Choose whether to send an email notification to all system users. This feature enables the Administrator to warn users that the Period End process will be taking place.

    As all users will be immediately locked out of the system, it’s recommended that this email, which is customizable, is sent to users. All users will receive the email whether or not they’re logged into GRC Cloud. If you don’t want to email all users about the lockout, you can run the Period End outside regular business hours.

  2. Choose a name for this period. This name is used to identify various periods for time-based reporting and should be simple yet descriptive.

    For instance:

    • Q2, 2016

    • 2016-Jan

    • 2016-01-31

  3. Click Begin Period End Process. An email will be sent to all users informing them a period end is in progress and, once the process is complete, they’ll be notified when they can return to work. This email is sent out regardless if the Administrator sent the email described in step 1.

  4. Click Go To Next Step.

Step 2 of 5: Archive and Maintenance

In this step, a copy of the current data will be archived. There are no options to select.

  1. If maintaining the Change Logs and Audit Trail is required, uncheck Clear Change Log and Audit Trail.

  2. Click Go to Next Step to continue. The next screen simply confirms the completion of the Archive and Maintenance step.

  3. Click Go To Next Step.

Step 3 of 5: Delete Non-Framework Items

In this step all non-framework items, such as Issues, Action Plans, Steps, and Test Results that are not part of a framework may be deleted. You can choose which non-framework items will be deleted by creating a hierarchical report then selecting the items.

It’s recommended that customers should typically avoid deleting a large number of items as data issues can occur as a result. For Test Results, testers will need to use the results in the next period and would likely prefer not to recreate the data. As such, you can clear the criteria, which will be reassessed in the new period, rather than deleting the test results. Similarly, for Deficiencies, decide whether you want to retain the old deficiencies or delete them from each period.

Note: Resolver provides a period end checklist, including a list of non-framework items to delete, to users after implementation of GRC Cloud. If you didn’t receive this checklist, contact Resolver Support. The checklist would look similar to the example below.

Example of a period end checklist:

  1. Create a hierarchical report by using relevant sections of the framework and by selecting the item types to be viewed. Although the Period End function will only delete non-framework items, framework items, such as folders, locations, risks, and controls, may also be viewed to make navigating around the framework easier.

  2. After generating a hierarchical report, select the checkboxes next to the items to be deleted, then click Delete at the top of the screen.

  3. Click Rebuild to create additional hierarchical reports to list other framework items, as needed.

  4. Click Go To Next Step. The next screen confirms the completion of these steps.

  5. Click Go To Next Step.

Step 4 of 5: Clear Criteria and Function Values / Remove or Purge Attached Files / Reset Workflows

In this step, attributes or evaluations of any items may be cleared, along with the results of any functions and attached files. You can choose the criteria and function results to be cleared by creating a hierarchical report of items, then selecting the desired criteria.

Note: Resolver provides a period end checklist to users after implementation of GRC Cloud. If you didn’t receive this checklist, contact Resolver Support. The checklist would look similar to the example below.

Example of a period end checklist:

  1. Create a hierarchical report by using the relevant sections of the framework and by selecting the item types to be viewed. To create additional reports or to amend an existing report, click Rebuild to return to the report design screen.

  2. Click the Clear Results tab to select which criteria or function results are to be cleared and/or removed. When an item contains sub-types, criteria selection needs to be made for each sub-type.

  3. Files can be removed from the items in the report OR the files can be removed from the item AND purged from File Manager. Select the appropriate box.

  4. Click Clear when all items and criteria to be cleared are in the report. This will clear the selected criteria for all items in the report, but will not clear criteria for areas of the organization that do not appear in the report.

    If you don’t want to clear all items in the system, you may need to run smaller reports clearing criteria values to ensure all the required items are cleared without clearing those that you wish to keep.

  5. Click OK to confirm that you want to clear these items. Note: The Clear process cannot be undone.

  6. Click Reset Workflow to reset all items’ workflow states in the report to Start.

  7. When all the clearing has been completed, click Go to Next Step. The next screen confirms the completion of these steps.

  8. Click Go To Next Step.

Step 5 of 5: Reopen Items and Remove User Lockout

Now that the database has been archived, selected item criteria have been cleared, and non-framework items removed, all Signed Off items will be opened and the system will be made available to all users.

  1. Click Go To Next Step. The next screen confirms the completion of this step.

  2. Click Go To Next Step. A screen will confirm the completion of the period end process.

  3. Click Finish to return to the GRC Cloud home page, reopen all signed off items, and remove the user lockout. Users will be informed by email that the system is now available.

Congratulations, Period End is complete!

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk